My First Night in DC

So I’ve been in DC for 24 hours now, so where do I even start? The plane ride was pretty good, probably because I was pretty buzzed from all the free alcohol. When I got off the plane, one of my house mates Eliana happened to be on the same flight and recognized me. Walking out of the airport to wait for our Uber definitely reminded me of Puerto Rico. It was humid and rainy, but the humidity here was NOTHING like Puerto Rico’s. That was miserable, this is doable. During the car ride to our house, I realized that Eliana knows Daniella’s best friend from high school Doreen. They went on Birthright together. It’s times like these that make me realize how small the world really is. 

So the car eventually pulled up to our house, and I’ve got to say… I like it! Our house is in a pretty nice location, it’s right behind the Capitol and there’s a pub next door (I smell trouble). I got in last night and got settled in. I’ve had to Uber three times already, once to Walmart since I didn’t have room in my suitcases to bring a towel. I’ll post more about the house later. 

After pounding a few shots and beers, the “crew” and I walked all the way to the Washington Monument at about midnight. We saw the WWII memorial and finished the night off at the Lincoln Memorial all in one night. They say that DC is pretty small, but walking takes a long time. I’m used to the valley and LA being a “grid” where getting around is easy. Not here! There are roundabouts, lane splits, zig zags, crossroads, it’s practically a maze! Driving in Nicaragua was a challenge, but here it seems much more difficult. I haven’t tried out the Metro or other public transportation yet, but I’ve heard that it’s a mess right now with budget cuts. 

The time change is really screwing me up, too. I’m already used to being up late in LA till about 1 or 2am. Fast forward three hours and that means I’m trained to go to sleep at about 5am here, not a recipe for a good night’s sleep. 

Tell me about your favorite way to deal with jet lag in the comments below. I’ll check back in tomorrow. 

– Matt

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sis says:

    Probably doesn’t help you now but my tip is to try to sleep on the plane according to my destination’s time zone. For example, if I have a flight at night to New York and will technically be arrive there in the morning New York time, I take travel time into account and make it a point to sleep. That way, my sleep schedule matches NY time rather than stay awake and still be on CA time and be exhausted and completely thrown off when I get there.

    So glad to hear it’s all falling into place! I know it’s a whirlwind at first, but once you settle down into a routine, it’ll be easy for you! Love you and miss you!

    Like

  2. Grampy says:

    when I traveled east I would stay up late & not sleep on plane so I was really tired so I could sleep earlier tha normal and be on their time schedule.

    Like

  3. mattkovacic1 says:

    thanks for the tips! I was planning on trying to sleep earlier when I was in California but obviously that was no help. Last night I took a melatonin at about ten and a sleep aid around 11 and had no trouble. We’ll see how it goes…

    Like

Leave a Reply

